How to disable Live Photo’s on iPhone.

One of the most common questions we get asked is how do you turn off Live Photo’s on the iPhone.

Apple introduced live photos in September 2015 as a new feature for your iPhone camera. You may not even know it’s on but you may have noticed that your photographs have a bit of movement and even sound in them as you scroll past them.

Live Photo’s on the iPhone records for 1.5 seconds before and after the photograph is taken. It then makes a Live Photo which is similar to a very short movie clip. Most times it’s just of your subject posing or you loving your phone into position to take the photo.

The 1.5 seconds before and after can also be used to select a better shot of your subject/person in picture. They may have blinked and you just caught them with their eyes closed. You could select a moment from the Live Photo that had their eyes open and keep that as the picture. We will look at that in another tutorial.

The Live Photo’s can be cool and playful if that’s what you want however most people just want to take a standard still photograph and get quite annoyed whenever they see the photographs and they have movement and sound in them. This feature can be temporarily turned off by tapping the Live Photo’s setting on the camera application (as seen below)

But as soon as you close out of the camera and reopen it will be switched back on.

This quick tutorial will show you how to disable the Live Photo’s option so that when you open the camera application live photos will not be active. (It can be manually switched back on at any time if you want to take a Live Photo)

  • The first thing you will need to do is go to the settings on your iPhone.
  • Then go to the camera settings and then to the “preserve settings” option as seen below

  • Once you are in the preserve settings section you need to click on the Live Photo’s option and ensure that it is on. This means that any settings you apply in the camera app for Live Photo’s will be remembered when you close/reopen the app.

Return to the camera app and select the setting that you wish for Live Photo’s, on or off. These settings will now be remembered and kept in place when your close and reopen the camera app.

If you found this tutorial useful please share so that others will be able to find it.